USC News

Menu Search

Jones and Levine Named Distinguished Professors

Peter A. Jones, Ph.D.

The career achievements of seven faculty members have been recognized with the conferring of the title “distinguished” or “university” professor, bringing the total to 20 USC faculty members who have been so honored.

The four new distinguished professors and their disciplines are Leonard M. Adleman (computer science), Peter A. Jones (biochemistry and molecular biology and urology), Edward E. Lawler III (business) and Alexandra M. Levine (medicine).

The three university professors are Michael A. Arbib (computer science, biomedical engineering, electrical engineering, biological sciences, neuroscience and psychology), George A. Bekey (computer science, electrical engineering and biomedical engineering) and Richard A. Easterlin (economics).

Provost Lloyd Armstrong Jr. recently notified the seven of the honors, among the highest academic recognitions bestowed by the university. The title of “Distinguished Professor” is awarded to faculty members who have brought special renown to the university through their accomplishments. “University Professor” is conferred on faculty members whose multidisciplinary interests and major accomplishments in several disciplines qualify for an appointment that transcends any single field of study.

Peter A. Jones, Ph.D.
Jones, the holder of the H. Leslie and Elaine S. Hoffman Chair in Cancer Research, has been director of the USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center since 1993. He is a leader in basic cancer research.

Jones and his research colleagues have shown that DNA methylation changes occurred during aging and human carcinogenesis, leading to further investigations of drugs to treat cancers. With USC colleague Donald Skinner, he has also made several original discoveries relating to the molecular genesis of bladder cancer.

Jones joined the USC faculty in 1977. He previously served as associate dean for academic and scientific affairs in the Keck School of Medicine, and director for basic research and director of the Urological Cancer Laboratory at the USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Alexandra M. Levine, M.D.
Levine is chief of the Keck School of Medicine’s division of hematology and medical director of the USC/Norris Hospital. She is an expert in hematological cancers and the clinical diagnosis and treatment of HIV-associated lymphomas.

Levine has published more than 150 articles and 50 book chapters on her specialties. She began her AIDS research in 1981, focusing primarily on cancers related to AIDS, and more recently on HIV disease in women. She worked with Jonas Salk in the development and testing of a therapeutic AIDS vaccine.

President Clinton appointed her to the Presidential HIV/AIDS Advisory Council in 1995. Keck School graduating classes have selected her for three Outstanding Clinical Professor Awards and three appearances as commencement speaker. Levine won a presidential medallion in 1994, the highest award bestowed by USC.

She has previously served as executive associate dean of the Keck School and as deputy clinical director of USC Norris Cancer Hospital.

More stories about:

Jones and Levine Named Distinguished Professors

Top stories on USC News