USC News

Menu Search

‘The Hurricane’ Wins Annual Scripter Award

UNIVERSAL PICTURES’ “The Hurricane” has won USC’s 12th annual Scripter Award, honoring the year’s best film adaptation of a book.

Rubin “Hurricane” Carter’s autobiography, “The Sixteenth Round,” and Sam Chaiton and Terry Swinton’s book, “Lazarus and the Hurricane: The Untold Story of the Freeing of Rubin ‘Hurricane’ Carter,” were adapted for the screen by Armyan Bernstein and Dan Gordon. Carter, Chaiton, Swinton, Bernstein and Gordon will be honored with crystal book awards at the Scripter black-tie dinner, to be held Saturday, March 4, at the historic Union Station in downtown Los Angeles.

Other finalists for the 12th annual Scripter Award were Miramax’s “The Cider House Rules”; Columbia Pictures’ “The End of the Affair”; Castle Rock Entertainment’s “The Green Mile”; and Paramount Pictures’ “The Talented Mr. Ripley.”

Director-screenwriter Steven Zaillian chaired this year’s selection committee of film and literary professionals. Zaillian won Scripter Awards in 1998 for his film adaptation of “A Civil Action,” in 1993 for “Schindler’s List” and in 1990 for “Awakenings.”

SPONSORED BY the Friends of the USC Libraries, the Scripter Award is given to the authors of the book on which an English-language film is based and to the screenwriters who adapted the book for the screen.

Previous winners were “A Civil Action,” “L.A. Confidential, “ “The English Patient,” “Sense and Sensibility,” “The Shawshank Redemption,” “Schindler’s List,” “A River Runs Through It,” “Fried Green Tomatoes,” “Awakenings,” “The Accidental Tourist” and “84 Charing Cross Road.”

For more information or for tickets to the USC Scripter Awards Dinner, call Sandra Findly at (213) 740-2328.

‘The Hurricane’ Wins Annual Scripter Award

Top stories on USC News