USC News

Menu Search

Great students and scholars recognized at 2015 Academic Honors Convocation

Faculty members Percival Everett and Roberta G. Williams receive Presidential Medallion

Percival Everett Max Nikias
C. L. Max Nikias congratulates Percival Everett who, along with Roberta Williams, received the Presidential Medallion in 2015. (Photo/Steve Cohn)

Standout students, faculty and administrators celebrated the heights of Trojan scholarship at the 34rd annual Academic Honors Convocation on April 15.

USC President C. L. Max Nikias presented the Presidential Medallion, the university’s highest honor, to Percival Everett and Roberta G. Williams. Everett, Distinguished Professor of English at the USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences, was most recently honored with a prized $25,000 fellowship for creative writing from the National Endowment for the Arts. Williams, professor of pediatrics and past chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the Keck School of Medicine of USC, is a pioneer in the field of children’s cardiology.

Among the award winners at the event at Town and Gown:

Emma Josephine Bradley Bovard Award

Sarah Anne Jackson

University Trustees Award

Harrison H. Lee
Manan P. Shah
Jason C. Silverman
Alexander Daniel Yuen

Jason Silverman John Mork

John Mork, left, with Jason Silverman at the 2015 Academic Honors Convocation (Photo/Steve Cohn)

USC Provost’s Award

Sakura Kato
Nicole Pearl Kleinman
Brandon Joaquim Loureiro
Leslie Jay McCracken

Phi Kappa Phi Student Recognition Award

Diana Arterian
Stephanie Chow and Stephen Yortsos
Kafia Haile
Yongzhi (Alex) Wang

Phi Beta Kappa Undergraduate Award

Jackson Burgess
Sara Worth

Rockwell Dennis Hunt Award

Katherine Fu

University Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Jiun Bang
Renée Bolinger
Bo Jin

Faculty Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert S. Harris
Phoebe Liebig
Donald G. Skinner
William G. Steier

Phi Kappa Phi Faculty Recognition Award

Joseph Allen Boone
Amy S. Lee
Sri R. Narayan
John Pollini

Provost’s Mentoring Award

John Matsusaka
Peter Monge

USC Associates Award – Creativity in Research and Scholarship

Martin Gundersen
Vanessa R. Schwartz

Percival Everett Roberta Williams

C. L. Max Nikias, left, and Michael Quick, right, flank 2015 Presidential Medallion honorees Percival Everett and Roberta Williams. (Photo/Steve Cohn)

USC Associates Award – Excellence in Teaching

Oliver Mayer
Melora Sundt

USC Associates Award – Artistic Expression

Gail Peter Borden
Peter Erskine

Presidential Medallion

Roberta G. Williams
Percival Everett

Special Recognition

Valedictorian: Alexander Daniel Yuen
Salutatorian: Carrie Moore

More stories about: , ,

Great students and scholars recognized at 2015 Academic Honors Convocation

Top stories on USC News