USC News

Menu Search

Johns Hopkins honors two Keck School faculty as University Society Scholars’

Two Keck School of Medicine faculty members have been selected as 2000 Johns Hopkins University Society of Scholars inductees. They are Tom DeMeester, professor and chair of the Department of Surgery, and Ronald E. Smith, Warren USC Professor and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology.
Also selected was Hanna Reisler, professor of chemistry.

They and 14 other distinguished scientists and clinicians who spent time at Johns Hopkins early in their careers will be honored during the society’s 31st induction ceremony on Wednesday, May 24, and again at the university’s Commencement Ceremony on Thursday, May 25.
DeMeester, an expert in foregut and pulmonary disease, has made numerous contributions to understanding and treating esophageal diseases, including gastroesophageal reflux disease. He has been named one of the “Best Doctors in America” by American Health magazine. He was a postdoctoral research fellow at Johns Hopkins between 1967 and 1968.

Smith’s numerous contributions to understanding ocular inflammation has made him a clinician and scientist of international repute. His expertise extends to the medical and surgical management of corneal and external diseases of the eyes.
He has been an important educator and proven leader in American ophthalmology, having served as president of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and chair of the American Board of Ophthalmology. He was an intern at Johns Hopkins between 1967 and 1968 and resident and chief resident at Hopkins’ Wilmer Eye Institute between 1968 and 1973.

Reisler has had a major impact on the field of molecular photodissociation dynamics by devising novel and incisive experiments for examining fundamental concepts. Her work studying detailed mechanisms of chemical reactions in the gas phase by using laser and molecular beam techniques has been very influential. A fellow of the American Physical Society, Reisler was a research fellow at Johns Hopkins in the Department of Chemistry between 1972 and 1974.
This year’s inductees will bring the number of society members to 400.

More stories about:

Johns Hopkins honors two Keck School faculty as University Society Scholars’

Top stories on USC News